New York <<return to state

The southern and central portion of the state of New York is covered by the Mid-Atlantic Framework (shaded area at right). It is composed of four Ecological Provinces, the Northeastern Mixed Forest (211), Eastern Broadleaf Forest (221), Midwest-Broadleaf Forest (222), and the Adirondack-New England Mixed Forest (M211). Understanding and managing the impacts of climate change on the Mid-Atlantic’s diverse forests will help us maintain their many benefits for years to come.

A key step to understanding the potential impacts of climate change in the Mid-Atlantic region is conducting a vulnerability assessment. The Mid-Atlantic Forest Ecosystem Vulnerability Assessment is currently in development. For more information, contact Patricia (Butler) Leopold. The unshaded portion is included with the New England Climate Change Response Framework, based on its standing history as part of the Northern Forest.

Use the menu above to explore Partnerships, Vulnerability Assessments, Forest Adaptation Resources, and Demonstration Projects in Delaware or return to the Mid-Atlantic Climate Change Response Framework.

Please contact Patricia (Butler) Leopold to learn more about this effort.

Demonstration Projects


Sorry, no Partners currently available for this area.


  • Doc

    Forest Adaptation Resources

    Forests across the United States are already changing in response to the changing climate, and natural resource professionals increasingly need to address new challenges for management and conservatio...

    Central Appalachians, Central Hardwoods, CT, Forest Adaptation Resources, Mid-Atlantic, New England, Northwoods, Urban, DE, IL, IN, Doc, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, RI, VT, WI, WV, Chicago

Related Resources

Sorry, no Related Resources currently available for this area.