Date
- ET
Location
Virtual
Advertisement flyer
Description

This online short course is designed for land trusts actively working on stewardship projects in rural, suburban, and urban forests, forested watersheds, and wetland systems.

Course Goals

  • Identify locally important climate change impacts, challenges, and opportunities.
  • Understand a step-by-step process for considering climate change and carbon in land stewardship and management.
  • Develop actions to help a specific natural area adapt to changing conditions.
  • Communicate with stakeholders about climate impacts and adaptation responses.

Logistics

Land trusts can participate as individuals or in groups up to five. Climate vulnerability information will be targeted to ecosystems in the U.S. Midwest, Northeast, Intermountain west and Pacific Northwest.

This course will be held over 3 weeks requiring 3 hours of virtual live classes, a self guided field session and assignments. Instructors will provide guidance, weekly check-ins, and coaching. For the self-guided field session, participants are asked to visit a property or natural area of their choosing and think about real-world applications of the course material.

Virtual Class Schedule

November 2nd, 5th, and 19th, 2020 at
11 a.m. Pacific/12 p.m. Mountain/1 p.m. Central /2 p.m. Eastern

Cost

$125.00 per land trust (limit of 5 staff)
Register here

Co-hosts and collaborators

Land Trust Alliance 

This event is supported by our partners
Land Trust Alliance color logo